Paul’s letters have always been some of my favorite passages of scripture.  I suspect that I have spent more time reading his words than any other author (inspired or secular).  Despite my familiarity with his theology, I was surprised when I recently read that Paul encourages us to imitate him seven times throughout the New Testament (see 1 Corinthians 4:16, 11:1, Galatians 4:12, Philippians 3:17, 1 Thessalonians 1:6, and 2 Thessalonians 3:7, 3:9).  Although it is important to note that in many of these instances, Paul is quick to add that he is following the example of Christ, the fact remains that the Apostle’s life is an example we are to follow.

When I survey both the life of Paul as well as the life of Christ, there are many similarities that stand out.  Perhaps most notable, however, is how neither regarded themselves as a victim of their circumstances.  Whether it was Christ’s words to Judas at the Last Supper– “What you do, do quickly”– or Paul’s recounting of his own trials in 2 Corinthians 11, they exclusively viewed their circumstances through the lens of God’s goodness and sovereignty.  As inspiring as Christ’s life is, I will often use the excuse that since He was God I can’t expect myself to live up to that standard (note: Paul says otherwise in Philippians 2).  But that excuse is not available to me when I survey Paul’s life.  I am especially humbled when I remember that four of his letters were written from prison where he says things like “Do not lose heart over my suffering for you” (Ephesians 3:13) and “I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake” (Colossians 1:24) and, perhaps most famously, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).

The truth is that I am typically unwilling to exercise this kind of perspective on my life.  This is part of what makes Paul’s sevenfold command to follow him so exposing, but thankfully he lets us in on the secret to walking in the grace that God has provided.  Paul makes it clear throughout all his epistles that the key to suffering well is to cherish Christ.  If you’re anything like me, then you know how easy it is to cherish literally anything other than Christ, as I am daily torn between my affection for God and my desire for the things of this world.  Paul’s words serve as an important reminder that the only thing that can legitimately satisfy and sustain me is found in Christ.  I pray that you remember that better than I do in the days ahead, particularly as Spring Break looms on the horizon.